News:

Moderation Team: Vette, babywhales, Bob In PA, gregf, bighitterdalama, beaugestus, T200

Owner: MightyGiants

Link To Live Chat

Mastodon

Main Menu

My favorite pop music trivia question

Started by Bob In PA, December 18, 2020, 11:39:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bob In PA

Name a song which was a hit recording twice, each time recorded by the same artist, in which one version was an up-tempo pop dance tune.... while the other was a classic hug-your-honey "slow song."   Same song!!!

The two version were recorded between 1960 and 1975 (which might help... only an old fogey like me will probably be able to come up with a guess, let alone the correct answer.

IMO this is not an easy question at all, and I believe there is only one correct answer.

Bob
If Jeff Hostetler could do it, Daniel Jones can do it !!!

Sem

I have a guess, although I admit to scanning a list of the top hits from the year I graduated HS, 1975. I didn't look any further back (1960), so I'm not sure if I have the correct answer. I'll keep it to myself for now in case others want to take a stab at it.

LennG

As soon as I read your description, I immediately thought of the Twist, by Chubby Checker. When you said there were two different  versions of it, I figured it can't be that.

There have been many songs by the same artists that became hots a second time, but the only one I can think of that might match your description is

'Breaking Up Is HardTo Do' by Neil Sedaka
I HATE TO INCLUDE THE WORD NASTY< BUT THAT IS PART OF BEING A WINNING FOOTBALL TEAM.

Charlie Weiss

Sem