Big Blue Huddle

General Category => Big Blue Huddle => Topic started by: MightyGiants on January 13, 2025, 01:50:19 PM

Title: Nixon: I recovered my fumble, and there should have been a penalty on the Eagles
Post by: MightyGiants on January 13, 2025, 01:50:19 PM
Does anyone feel the NFL got it wrong when they didn't overturn the kickoff return fumble that replay shows was recovered and was down by contact by the Packers' Nixon?


Here is a brief article on this



https://www.nbcsports.com/nfl/profootballtalk/rumor-mill/news/keisean-nixon-i-recovered-my-fumble-and-there-should-have-been-a-penalty-on-the-eagles
Title: Re: Nixon: I recovered my fumble, and there should have been a penalty on the Eagles
Post by: babywhales on January 13, 2025, 01:56:49 PM
It was an illegal hit for sure 
Head contact
Title: Re: Nixon: I recovered my fumble, and there should have been a penalty on the Eagles
Post by: Gmo11 on January 13, 2025, 02:25:50 PM
I was baffled as to how that call wasn't overturned from the overhead view of it.  Seemed clear as day that he recovered that ball.  And yes should have been a blow to the head but for some reason they never call that on on a RB or kick return.  Just WR's getting blown up reaching for a ball I guess.
Title: Re: Nixon: I recovered my fumble, and there should have been a penalty on the Eagles
Post by: MightyGiants on January 13, 2025, 02:58:51 PM
I agree with you guys, losing the ball in a scrum was allowed only by virtue of officials not being able to know better.   In this case, they had the visual evidence, but they decided to ignore it.   Not a good look for the NFL, in my opinion.
Title: Re: Nixon: I recovered my fumble, and there should have been a penalty on the Eagles
Post by: kartanoman on January 13, 2025, 03:11:50 PM
That was the most delicious "Home Cookin'" by the refs I witnessed in a LONG time!

I was shocked that they couldn't even wait that they had to start serving it up on the opening kickoff. Completely took the competitive nature of the game away and forced Green Bay to play on its heels all day.

There's a reason the team is called Filthydelphia and it was on full display yesterday. There's nothing wrong with good, solid, physical football but plenty of leading with the head shots, muggings and blatant pass interference calls completely ignored by the refs added to the Packers' frustrations all day. That they were able to get the game to 16-10 in the fourth quarter, despite the key injuries to the offensive line, was courageous on their part.

But the overhead replay clearly showed the Packers' return man having possession of the ball before the melee took place. Whether that angle was part of the booth review is unknown; however, in a playoff game, if the networks have it, you would think the league would be able to provide it to the booth review team as well.

Just a frustrating game to watch.

Peace!
Title: Re: Nixon: I recovered my fumble, and there should have been a penalty on the Eagles
Post by: GordonGekko80 on January 13, 2025, 03:26:02 PM
I was surprised by the Refs call here.

Felt that the ball really was recovered.
Title: Re: Nixon: I recovered my fumble, and there should have been a penalty on the Eagles
Post by: ozzie on January 13, 2025, 05:56:26 PM
Quote from: babywhales on January 13, 2025, 01:56:49 PMIt was an illegal hit for sure 
Head contact

Yes, I thought there should have been a call for head to head hit as soon as I saw it.
Title: Re: Nixon: I recovered my fumble, and there should have been a penalty on the Eagles
Post by: files58 on January 13, 2025, 09:46:37 PM
The iggles push it to the limit, and go over the line. Targeting is not new to them. In last year's playoff game against the Niners they went after Purdy's arm when rushing. He hasn't been the same. That's part of why Siriani is a dirt bag.
Title: Re: Nixon: I recovered my fumble, and there should have been a penalty on the Eagles
Post by: EDjohnst1981 on January 13, 2025, 09:53:16 PM
I thought Nixon clearly recovered it when looking at the overhead shot.

I mentioned in the gamethread that Goddart clearly threw the finger guns, and quickly put his thumb down, when he got a 1st down and that wasn't called.

Whilst the latter rule is stupid - it will have no impact on gun violence - it absolutely should have been called.